Passenger Ropeway Safety Committee
72-11-202 UCA
4 times per year
4 years
Per Diem And Expenses
Allen, Brian

Josie, Diane

Miles, Robert

Amended 2019 General Session

(1) There is created within the Department of Transportation a Passenger Ropeway Safety Committee.
(2) The committee is comprised of six appointive members and one ex officio member who shall be appointed by the executive director of the Department of Transportation.
(3) The appointive members shall be appointed by the governor from persons representing the following interests:
(a) two members to represent the industry;
(b) two members to represent the public at large;
(c) one member who is a licensed engineer in Utah; and
(d) one member to represent the United States Forest Service.
(4) (a) Except as required by Subsection (4)(b), as terms of committee members expire, the governor shall appoint each new member or reappointed member to a four-year term.
(b) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (4)(a), the governor shall, at the time of appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of committee members are staggered so that approximately half of the committee is appointed every two years.
(c) The governor may not consider or seek to discover the political affiliation of a person when considering the person for appointment or reappointment to the committee.
(5) The governor, in making the appointments, shall request and consider recommendations made to him by:
(a) the membership of the particular interest from which the appointments are to be made; and
(b) the Department of Transportation.


Board member Type Qualification Original Appointment Current Appointment Expiration
Member (b) Public Member N/A 8/1/2022
Christiansen, Haydon C. Member (b) Public Member 5/1/2017 05/01/2017 5/1/2021
Miles, Robert Ex-Officio Appointed by Executive Director of UDOT 4/11/2015 04/11/2015 N/A
Oberlander, Russell K. Member (c) Licensed Engineer 7/1/2018 07/01/2018 7/1/2022
Panter, Curt Member (d) Forest Service representative 2/1/2000 06/01/2012 N/A
Taxwood, Richard H. Member (a) Industry Representative 2/1/2017 02/01/2017 2/1/2020
West, Jeff N. Member (a) Industry Representative 7/1/2018 07/01/2018 7/1/2022