Board Of The Utah Geological Survey
Natural Resources
79-3-302 UCA
0 times per year
4 years
Per Diem And Expenses
Allis, Richard

Bird, Darin G.

The governor shall appoint seven members to the board with consent of the Senate, as follows:

(a) one member knowledgeable in the field of geology as applied to the practice of civil engineering;

(b) four representatives of the various segments of the mineral industry throughout the state, such as hydrocarbons, industrial minerals, metals, and solid fuels.

(c) one member knowledgeable of the economic or scientific interests of the mineral industry in the state

(d) one member who is interested in the goals of the survey and from the public at large

(e) The director of the School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration is an ex-officio member of the board without any voting privileges.

No more than four members may be of the same political party.


Board member Type Qualification Original Appointment Current Appointment Expiration
Chesnut, Rick L. Member (R) knowledgeable in geology as applied to civil engineering 5/17/2017 05/17/2017 4/1/2021
Eckels, Marc T. Member (R) Representative of oil and gas industry. 4/1/2017 04/01/2017 4/1/2021
Fleck, Kenneth S. Member (U) representative of the mineral industry 3/1/2015 03/01/2015 4/1/2019
Garbrecht, David A. Member (U) Representative of Mineral Industry 5/17/2017 05/17/2017 4/1/2021
Kilbourne, Peter M. Member (U) Representative reflecting scientific or economic interests of Mineral Industry 3/1/2013 04/01/2017 4/1/2021
Quigley, Samuel C. Member (U) representative of the mineral industry 3/1/2015 03/01/2015 4/1/2019
Richards, Elissa K. Member (U) Public at large 3/1/2015 03/01/2015 4/1/2019
Ure, David Member Director of SITLA 1/1/2016 01/01/2016 N/A