Utah Commission On Aging
63M-11-201 UCA
4 times per year
2 years
Podolan, Heather

Amended 2019 General Session

(1) The commission shall be composed of 20 voting members as follows:
(a) the executive director of the Department of Health;
(b) the executive director of the Department of Human Services;
(c) the executive director of the Governor's Office of Economic Development;
(d) the executive director of the Department of Workforce Services; and
(e) 16 voting members, appointed by the governor, representing each of the following:
(i) the Utah Association of Area Agencies on Aging;
(ii) higher education in Utah;
(iii) the business community;
(iv) the Utah Association of Counties;
(v) the Utah League of Cities and Towns;
(vi) charitable organizations;
(vii) the health care provider industry;
(viii) financial institutions;
(ix) the legal profession;
(x) the public safety sector;
(xi) public transportation;
(xii) ethnic minorities;
(xiii) the industry that provides long-term care for the elderly;
(xiv) organizations or associations that advocate for the aging population;
(xv) the Alzheimer's Association; and
(xvi) the general public.
(a) A member appointed under Subsection (1)(e) shall serve a two-year term.
(b) Notwithstanding the term requirements of Subsection (2)(a), the governor may adjust the length of the initial commission members' terms to ensure that the terms are staggered so that approximately 1/2 of the members appointed under Subsection (1)(e) are appointed each year.
(c) When, for any reason, a vacancy occurs in a position appointed by the governor under Subsection (1)(e), the governor shall appoint a person to fill the vacancy for the unexpired term of the commission member being replaced.
(d) Members appointed under Subsection (1)(e) may be removed by the governor for cause.
(e) A member appointed under Subsection (1)(e) shall be removed from the commission and replaced by the governor if the member is absent for three consecutive meetings of the commission without being excused by the chair of the commission.
(3) In appointing the members under Subsection (1)(e), the governor shall:
(a) take into account the geographical makeup of the commission; and
(b) strive to appoint members who are knowledgeable or have an interest in issues relating to the aging population.


Board member Type Qualification Original Appointment Current Appointment Expiration
Anderson, Amy Z. Member Utah League of Cities and Towns 10/1/2019 10/01/2019 10/1/2021
Burbank, Chris C. Member Public Safety 8/1/2018 08/01/2018 N/A
Daniel, Ronnie Member Alzheimer's Association 4/1/2017 04/01/2017 4/1/2019
Gessel, David C. Member Health care provider 6/1/2014 06/01/2018 6/1/2020
Hale, Val Member Governor's Office of Economic Development Executive Director 8/4/2014 08/04/2014 N/A
Jackson, Andrew K. Chair Transportation representative 3/1/2017 03/01/2019 3/1/2021
Kelso, Gary M. Member Long-term care 3/1/2008 07/01/2019 7/1/2021
Larson, Tracey B. Member Financial Institutions Representative 10/1/2013 09/01/2019 9/1/2021
Leggett, Paul Member Area agencies of Aging 2/12/2020 02/12/2020 3/1/2021
Milne, Linda D. Member General Public 8/30/2017 09/01/2019 9/1/2021
Miner, Joseph K. Ex-Officio Executive Director, Department of Health 8/19/2015 08/19/2015 N/A
Ormsby, Alan Member Advocacy Organizations Representative 8/1/2012 08/01/2018 8/1/2020
Pierpont, Jon Member Dept. of Workforce Services Executive Director 4/2/2013 04/02/2013 N/A
Rajeev, Deepthi Member Charitable Organizations Representative 8/1/2015 08/01/2019 8/1/2021
Singer, Lewis J. Member Ethnic Minority rep. 1/1/2016 01/01/2018 1/1/2020
Supiano, Mark Member Higher Education 7/1/2007 07/01/2019 7/1/2021
Turnquist, Cindy Member Business Community Representative 1/1/2016 01/01/2018 1/1/2020
Williamson, Ann Member Human Services, Executive Director 11/4/2013 11/04/2013 N/A
Wilson, Troy Member Legal Profession 1/1/2013 01/01/2019 1/1/2021
Wright, Glenn J. Member Utah Association of Counties 5/1/2019 05/01/2019 5/1/2021