Multicultural Commission
Heritage and Arts
9-21-301 UCA
6 times per year
2 years
Benally-Sagg, Rozanna R.

Hor, Jenny

Amended 2019 General Session

(1) There is created within the division the Utah Multicultural Commission.
(2) The commission shall consist of:
(a) the lieutenant governor, who shall serve as chair of the commission; and
(b) at least 14 additional members appointed by the governor to two-year terms.
(3) Notwithstanding the requirements of Subsection (2)(b), the governor shall at the time of appointment adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of commission members are staggered so that approximately half of the commission is appointed every two years.
(4) The commission shall meet at least six times per year.
(5) A majority of the members of the commission constitutes a quorum of the commission at any meeting, and the action of the majority of members present is the action of the commission.
(6) A member appointed by the governor may be reappointed for one or more additional terms.
(7) When a vacancy occurs in the membership, the governor shall appoint a replacement for the unexpired term.
(8) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(a) Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107; and
(b) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.
(9) The department shall make rules establishing the membership, duties, and procedures of the commission in accordance with the requirements of:
(a) this chapter; and
(b) Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.
(10) The department shall provide administrative support to the commission.



Board member Type Qualification Original Appointment Current Appointment Expiration
Anderson, Jess Ex-Officio Public Safety representative 10/17/2018 10/17/2018 N/A
Atkinson, Pamela J. Member Community-at-large 11/15/2011 11/15/2011 N/A
Babitz, Marc Ex-Officio Health Department representative 3/1/2015 03/01/2015 N/A
Barber, Jean Ex-Officio Human Resources Management representative 7/1/2013 07/01/2013 N/A
Camu, Emilio M. Member Community-at-large 2/1/2016 11/15/2017 11/15/2019
Chavez, Rebecca Member Community-at-large 5/22/2019 05/22/2019 5/22/2020
Cox, Spencer J. Ex-Officio Lt. Governor 10/16/2013 10/16/2013 N/A
Flygare, Jill Ex-Officio GOED Representative 6/17/2016 06/17/2016 N/A
Garciaz, Maria J. Member Community-at-large 2/1/2016 02/01/2016 11/1/2020
Haddon, Mike Ex-Officio Corrections Department representative 10/17/2018 10/17/2018 N/A
Hanamaika'i, Nathan Member Community-at-large 2/1/2016 11/01/2017 11/15/2020
Hirabayashi, Dean I. Member Community-at-large 11/15/2012 11/15/2016 11/15/2019
Niang, Abdou W. Member Community-at-large 4/1/2016 04/01/2017 4/1/2020
Novilla, Len B. Member Community-at-large 11/15/2012 11/15/2016 11/15/2019
Nyawelo, Tino S. Member Community-at-large 2/1/2016 02/01/2016 11/1/2020
Peterson, Jeremy Ex-Officio Senate designee 7/1/2012 07/01/2012 N/A
Pierpont, Jon Ex-Officio Workforce Services Representative 3/1/2015 03/01/2015 N/A
Pyfer, Tami W. Ex-Officio Education Representative 3/1/2015 03/01/2015 N/A
Remington Love, Jill Ex-Officio Department of Heritage and Arts 12/13/2016 12/13/2016 N/A
Reyes, Kyle Member Community-at-large 4/1/2015 04/01/2017 4/1/2020
Russell, Byron Vice-chair Community-at-large 11/15/2011 11/15/2017 11/15/2020
Tashnizi, Satin Member Community-at-large 1/8/2019 01/08/2019 1/8/2022
Thompson, Jacqueline Member Community-at-large 11/15/2012 11/15/2017 11/15/2019
Tsosie Jensen, Lillian V. Member Community at large 4/1/2017 04/01/2017 4/1/2020
Tuitupou, Lilieni M. Member Community-at-large 1/8/2019 01/08/2019 1/8/2022
Wang, Ming Ex-Officio Human Services representative 3/1/2016 03/01/2016 N/A
Xiao, Ze Min Member Community-at-large 2/1/2016 11/08/2017 11/8/2020