Utah Digital Health Service Commission
26-9f-103 UCA
4 times per year
3 years
Per Diem And Expenses
Miner, Joseph K.

Forsythe, Navina

Amended 2018 General Session

(1) There is created within the department the Utah Digital Health Service Commission.
(2) The governor shall appoint 13 members to the commission with the consent of the Senate, as follows:
(a) a physician who is involved in digital health service;
(b) a representative of a health care system or a licensed health care facility as that term is defined in Section 26-21-2;
(c) a representative of rural Utah, which may be a person nominated by an advisory committee on rural health issues created pursuant to Section 26-1-20;
(d) a member of the public who is not involved with digital health service;
(e) a nurse who is involved in digital health service; and
(f) eight members who fall into one or more of the following categories:
(i) individuals who use digital health service in a public or private institution;
(ii) individuals who use digital health service in serving medically underserved populations;
(iii) nonphysician health care providers involved in digital health service;
(iv) information technology professionals involved in digital health service;
(v) representatives of the health insurance industry;
(vi) telehealth digital health service consumer advocates; and
(vii) individuals who use digital health service in serving mental or behavioral health populations.
(a) The commission shall annually elect a chairperson from its membership. The chairperson shall report to the executive director of the department.
(b) The commission shall hold meetings at least once every three months. Meetings may be held from time to time on the call of the chair or a majority of the board members.
(c) Seven commission members are necessary to constitute a quorum at any meeting and, if a quorum exists, the action of a majority of members present shall be the action of the commission.
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), a commission member shall be appointed for a three-year term and eligible for two reappointments.
(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(a), the governor shall, at the time of appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of commission members are staggered so that approximately 1/3 of the commission is appointed each year.
(c) A commission member shall continue in office until the expiration of the member's term and until a successor is appointed, which may not exceed 90 days after the formal expiration of the term.
(d) Notwithstanding Subsection (4)(c), a commission member who fails to attend 75% of the scheduled meetings in a calendar year shall be disqualified from serving.
(e) When a vacancy occurs in membership for any reason, the replacement shall be appointed for the unexpired term.
(5) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but, at the executive director's discretion, may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(a) Section 63A-3-106;
(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
(c) rules made by the Division of Finance pursuant to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.
(6) The department shall provide informatics staff support to the commission.
(7) The funding of the commission shall be a separate line item to the department in the annual appropriations act.


Board member Type Qualification Original Appointment Current Appointment Expiration
Bailey, Todd Member individual who uses telehealth in serving medically underserved populations 5/18/2016 10/01/2018 10/1/2021
Dalley, Mark F. Member Licensed Health Care Facility Representative 6/19/2013 10/01/2019 10/1/2022
Gardenhire, Anika S. Member Nursing Representative 2/13/2020 02/13/2020 10/1/2020
Gardner, Henry W. Member Telehealth digital health service consumer advocates. 11/1/2010 10/01/2017 10/1/2020
Hannon, Peter Member Director Utah Central Clinic 3/6/2018 10/01/2018 10/1/2021
Henrie, Patricia Member individuals who uses digital health service in serving mental or behavioral health population 8/15/2018 08/15/2018 10/1/2021
Hiatt, Benjamin J. Member Public Member 11/14/2018 11/14/2018 10/1/2021
Hoffman, Matt S. Member information technology professional involved in telehealth 2/13/2020 02/13/2020 10/1/2021
Marx, Preston D. Member Rural Health 10/1/2014 10/01/2017 10/1/2020
Moore, Dallas Member Non-physician Health Care Provider 2/13/2020 02/13/2020 2/13/2023
Rupper, Randall W. Member individual who uses telehealth in a public or private institution 10/1/2014 10/01/2018 10/1/2021
Schaecher, Kenneth L. Member representative of the health insurance industry 11/6/2018 11/06/2018 10/1/2021
Woolsey, Sarah L. Member Physician Representative 6/13/2013 10/01/2019 10/1/2022