Utah State Scenic Byway Committee
Governor's Office of Economic Development
72-4-302 UCA
4 times per year
4 years
Varela, Vicki

Timmins, Flint

Amended 2019 General Session

(1) There is created the Utah State Scenic Byway Committee.
(a) The committee shall consist of the following 13 members:
(i) a representative from each of the following entities appointed by the governor:
(A) the Governor's Office of Economic Development;
(B) the Utah Department of Transportation;
(C) the Department of Heritage and Arts;
(D) the Division of Parks and Recreation;
(E) the Federal Highway Administration;
(F) the National Park Service;
(G) the National Forest Service; and
(H) the Bureau of Land Management;
(ii) one local government tourism representative appointed by the governor;
(iii) a representative from the private business sector appointed by the governor; and
(iv) three local elected officials from a county, city, or town within the state appointed by the governor.
(b) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(c), the members appointed in this Subsection (2) shall be appointed for a four-year term of office.
(c) The governor shall, at the time of appointment or reappointment for appointments made under Subsection (2)(a)(i), (ii), (iii), or (iv) adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of committee members are staggered so that approximately half of the committee is appointed every two years.
(a) The representative from the Governor's Office of Economic Development shall chair the committee.
(b) The members appointed under Subsections (2)(a)(i)(E) through (H) serve as nonvoting, ex officio members of the committee.
(4) The Governor's Office of Economic Development and the department shall provide staff support to the committee.
(a) The chair may call a meeting of the committee only with the concurrence of the department.
(b) A majority of the voting members of the committee constitute a quorum.
(c) Action by a majority vote of a quorum of the committee constitutes action by the committee.
(6) A member may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service, but may receive per diem and travel expenses as allowed in:
(a) Section 63A-3-106;
(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
(c) rules made by the Division of Finance according to Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.



Board member Type Qualification Original Appointment Current Appointment Expiration
Brady, P Keith Member (iv) Elected Official-Garfield Co. Commissioner 10/1/2016 10/01/2016 9/30/2020
Brunswick, Nancy A. Member (G) National Forest Service Representative 11/9/2017 11/09/2017 N/A
Crossland, Leslie Member (F) National Park Service Representative 3/1/2014 03/01/2014 N/A
Glenn, Evan Member (H) Bureau of Land Management Representative 11/9/2017 11/09/2017 N/A
Hansen, Christopher Member (C) Heritage & Arts Representative 11/9/2017 11/09/2017 N/A
Potter, Chris Member (B) UDOT Representative 3/1/2014 03/01/2014 N/A
Rowley, Joshua H. Member (iii) Private Business Sector Representative 11/9/2017 11/09/2017 11/9/2021
Schreher Randall, Natalie L. Member (ii) Duchesne Tourism Representative 11/9/2017 11/09/2017 11/9/2021
Stringer, William C. Member (iv) Elected Official 10/1/2016 10/01/2016 9/30/2020
Strong, Scott Member (D) Parks & Recreation Representative 7/9/2018 07/09/2018 N/A
Varela, Vicki Chair (A) GOED Representative 1/11/2013 01/11/2013 N/A
Wells, Curtis F. Member (iv) Elected Official 7/9/2018 07/09/2018 7/9/2022
Woolford, Edward T. Member (E) Federal Highway Administration Representative 11/9/2017 11/09/2017 N/A