State Records Committee
Administrative Services
63G-2-501 UCA
12 times per year
4 years
Per Diem And Expenses
Williams, Kenneth R.

Brown, Melissa

Amended 2020 General Session

(1) There is created the State Records Committee within the Department of Administrative Services consisting of the following seven individuals:

(a) an individual in the private sector whose profession requires the individual to create or manage records that, if created by a governmental entity, would be private or controlled;
(b) an individual with experience with electronic records and databases, as recommended by a statewide technology advocacy organization that represents the public, private, and nonprofit sectors;
(c) the director of the Division of Archives and Records Services or the director's designee;
(d) two citizen members;
(e) one person representing political subdivisions, as recommended by the Utah League of Cities and Towns; and
(f) one individual representing the news media.
(2) The governor shall appoint the members described in Subsections (1)(a), (b), (d), (e), and (f) with the advice and consent of the Senate.
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), the governor shall appoint each member to a four-year term.
(b) Notwithstanding Subsection (3)(a), the governor shall, at the time of appointment or reappointment, adjust the length of terms to ensure that the terms of committee members are staggered so that approximately half of the committee is appointed every two years.
(c) Each appointed member is eligible for reappointment for one additional term.
(4) When a vacancy occurs in the membership for any reason, the replacement shall be appointed for the unexpired term.
(5) A member of the State Records Committee may not receive compensation or benefits for the member's service on the committee, but may receive per diem and travel expenses in accordance with:
(a) Section 63A-3-106;
(b) Section 63A-3-107; and
(c) rules made by the Division of Finance under Sections 63A-3-106 and 63A-3-107.



Board member Type Qualification Original Appointment Current Appointment Expiration
Dean, Nancy R. Member (e) recommended by Utah League of Cities and Towns 5/13/2020 05/13/2020 5/31/2024
Fleming, David M. Chair (a) Private Sector Professional 9/21/2016 09/21/2016 9/30/2020
Haraldsen, Thomas R. Member (f) Representing the News Media 10/1/2014 10/01/2018 9/30/2022
Richardson, Holly J. Member (d) Citizen Member 10/17/2012 09/21/2016 9/30/2020
Smith-Mansfield, Patricia Member (d) Citizen Member 7/18/2018 07/18/2018 9/30/2021
Westwood, Brad Member (b) State History designee 2/1/2017 02/01/2017 N/A
Williams, Kenneth R. Member (c) Governor's Designee 10/12/2017 10/12/2017 N/A